Norfolk State’s Devante Carter named to BOXTROW HBCU All-America Team

Courtesy of Norfolk State Athletic Communications

NORFOLK, Va. – Norfolk State men’s basketball senior guard Devante Carter was named to the BOXTOROW HBCU All-America Team, the organization announced on Thursday. He was one of eight players to garner a spot on the All-America second team.

Carter becomes the 10th different Spartan player to earn accolades from BOXTOROW, which released its 13th annual All-America team this year. He led Norfolk State to its second-ever MEAC title and an NCAA Tournament First Four win last week.

A native of Newport News, Va., Carter was voted to the All-MEAC second team this year and earned a spot on the MEAC All-Tournament Team. He led Norfolk State with 14.9 points, 5.1 rebounds and 4.0 assists to go along with 1.1 steals. He shot 41 percent from the floor and 69 percent from the free throw line. He was the only player on the team to start all 25 games.

He was also a three-time MEAC Player of the Week this year.

Carter scored in double figures in all but two games, helping to lead the Spartans to a share of the MEAC Northern Division title in addition to the tournament championship. The Spartans finished 17-8 overall, 8-4 in the MEAC. They made their second-ever NCAA Tournament appearance, knocking off Appalachian State in the First Four before falling to No. 1 seed Gonzaga in the First Round. In the process, they because the only current MEAC school to win a second game in the NCAA Tournament.

The HBCU All-America Team has featured at least one Spartan every year except one. This year marks the third year in a row the Spartans had a player named to the team, following second-team honors from Nic Thomas in 2019 and Jermaine Bishop in 2020.

The BOXTOROW All-America teams honor players from Division I Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). BOXTOROW has administered its All-America teams since 2009. This season, a total of nine players were named to the first team with another eight on the second team.

Carter was one of eight MEAC players to earn either a first or second-team nod. Coppin State’s Anthony Tarke shared the National Player of the Year award with Davion Warren of Hampton. Morgan State’s Kevin Broadus and Byron Smith of Prairie View A&M shared the National Coach of the Year award as well.

BOXTOROW HBCU Division I All-America Teams
First Team
Troymain Crosby, Alcorn State (G/F, 6-4, Sr., Laurel, Miss.)
Tristan Jarrett, Jackson State (G, 6-4, Sr., Brownsville, Tenn.)
C.J. Keyser, North Carolina Central (G, 6-3, r-Sr., Baltimore, Md.)
Kameron Langley, North Carolina A&T, (G, 6-2, Sr., Greensboro, N.C.)
Cam Mack, Prairie View A&M (G, 6-2, r-Jr., Austin, Texas)
MJ Randolph, Florida A&M (G, 6-4, Jr., Pensacola, Fla.)
Anthony Tarke, Coppin State (G, 6-6, r-Sr., Gaithersburg, Md.)
Davion Warren, Hampton (G, 6-6, Sr., Buffalo, N.Y.)
Michael Weathers, Texas Southern (G, 6-3, Sr., Roeland Park, Kan.)

Second Team
Troy Baxter, Morgan State (F, 6-9, Sr., Tallahassee, Fla.)
Devante Carter, Norfolk State (G, 6-3, Sr., Newport News, Va.)
DeJuan Clayton, Coppin State (G, 6-2, r-Sr., Bowie, Md.)
Shaun Doss, Jr., Arkansas-Pine Bluff (G, 6-5, r-Jr., Marion, Ark.)
Mark Freeman, Tennessee State, (G, 5-10, Soph., Memphis, Tenn.)
Jalen Johnson, Alabama A&M (F, 6-7, Sophomore, Indianapolis, Ind.)
John Walker, III, Texas Southern (F, 6-9, r-Jr., Houston, Texas)
De’Torrion Ware, Morgan State (G, 6-4, Jr., Hopkinsville, Ky.)

BOXTOROW Players of the Year: Anthony Tarke and Davion Warren
BOXTOROW Coaches of the Year: Kevin Broadus and Byron Smith

Related posts

Leave a Comment