Three Tuskegee players to take part in HBCU All-Star Classic in Harlem

Courtesy of Tuskegee Athletics

TUSKEGEE, Ala. – Tuskegee Athletics will be represented I the famed Rucker Park in Harlem, New York this summer as a trio of student-athletes have been selected to participate in the 2023 HBCU All-Star Dream Classic.

Second Team All-SIAC guard Devin Booker has been chosen from the Golden Tiger program for the men’s roster, while Ashiala Jackson, the two-time Player of the Year and JuToreyia Willis, the two-time SIAC Defensive Player of the Year, will represent on the women’s side.

The basketball event featuring both a men’s and women’s game on Saturday, August 5. Current HBCU coaches will lead both sides for the men’s affair, with former NBA star and Fisk head coach Kenny Anderson leading one side, while Clark Atlanta head coach and fellow New York native Alfred Jordan will lead the other. The event is being produced by Bridging Structural Holes, Inc.

“The Summers are slow for the narrative development of HBCU. No graduations, No Homecoming and very little to connect the Culture to the Community. We found that special mixture of everything you experience at an HBCU. Bringing together these players, some of whom made All Conference, All American and place them literally under the lights of Broadway is Unprecedented and Epic,” said Bridging Structural Holes founder Darryl Roberts.

An award/tribute will be made to Robert “Bob” McCullough, HBCU Legend, Harlem Icon, Trailblazer and Co-Founder of National Each One Teach One youth Sports Mentoring Program. Mr. McCullough will receive an award in his name that will be awarded to future recipients that provide service to the community of Harlem.

‘Watching the HBCU Allstar Dream Classic at Rucker Park will be like witnessing history in motion. The passion and skill displayed by the Men’s and Women’s teams will be a testament to the power of sport to bring people together with intention,” said co-producer Rachel E. Naughton.

The HBCU All-Star women’s game begins at 4:30pm and will be followed by the men at 7:00pm.

HC – Kenny AndersonFisk UniversityHC – Alfred JordanClark Atlanta University
Sam SessionsCoppin State UniversityKorey WilliamsLincoln University
Keleaf TateVirginia Union UniversityGlen AbramWest Virginia State University
Cress WorthyFayetteville State UniversityShawndarius CowartGrambling State University
Justin LongstreetClark Atlanta UniversityDevin BookerTuskegee University
Cameron CampbellWinston-Salem State UniversityJeremiah PopeShaw University
O’Koye ParkerDelaware State UniversityQuinton DraytonBowie State University
Marquis GodwinHampton UniversityTerrance Hunter-WhitfieldVirginia State University
Alex NunnallyHarris-Stowe UniversityNathaniel PollardUniversity Maryland Eastern Shore
Yasim HookerMiles CollegeRaemaad WrightVirginia Union University
Kobe DicksonHoward UniversityNajee GarvinHampton University
JuToreyia WillisTuskegee UniversityCamille DownsNorfolk State University
Mia GoolsbySavannah State UniversityJariyah CovingtonJackson State University
Daja WoodardJackson State UniversityEmari BellEdward Waters College
Jasmine ColemanRust CollegeTa’kyla AustinSavannah State University
Charlene ShepherdMorgan State UniversityBrittney SeymourShaw University
Raven FieldsWinston Salem State UniversityAlexus LakeLivingstone College
Shaniyah JonesJohnson C. Smith UniversityPhylicia AllenGrambling State University
Nia BishopXavier LouisianaKania PollockLincoln University
Deja FrancisNorfolk State UniversityAshiala JacksonTuskegee University
Jaia AlexanderCoppin State UniversityBria GibbsSavannah State University

Related posts

Leave a Comment