2024 HBCU Swingman Classic rosters unveiled

The rosters were announced for the second annual HBCU Swigman Classic. 

The showcase will be held July 12, 2024, at Globe Life Field and is the brainchild of baseball legend Ken Griffey Jr and brings together the Crème de la Crème of Division I HBCU baseball talent. 

Below is the complete list of players that will take part in the event. 

The teams will be by managed three-time All-Stat and two-time World Series champion Ken Griffey Sr and former big leaguer and manager Lloyd McClendon. Coaching staff will include Hall of Famer and HBCU alumnus “The Hawk”, Andre Dawson (FAMU), fellow former big leaguers and HBCU alumni Courtney Duncan(Grambling) Trenidad Hubbard ( Southern), Lenny Webster (Grambling), Ralph Garr Sr. (Grambling) and Vince Coleman (FAMU). Other coaches include former Cubs bullpen coach Lenny Strode ( Kentucky State), Boston Red Sox minor league outfield and baserunning coordinator Corey Wimberly ( Alcorn State) current Tampa Tarpons’ manager, and former Grambling head coach James Cooper (Grambling). Former MLB manager Jerry Manuel, former big league Mark McLemore former minor league infielder, and current Arizona Diamondbacks scout Garry Templetin Jr round out the coaching staff. 

In addition to the star-studded contest, the festivities will also include a Battle of Bands that will see Texas Southern’s “Ocean of Soul” squaring off against “The Marching Storm” of Prairie View A&M. 

Related posts

Leave a Comment