Boomers squad named for FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers


Basketball Australia have named a 24-man Boomers squad for the upcoming FIBA Asia Cup qualification games.

The Boomers face New Zealand in Brisbane at Nissan Arena on February 20 before playing away to Hong Kong in their second game on February 23.

The squad is headlined by 2019 FIBA World Cup team members Chris Goulding, Mitch Creek, David Barlow, Cam Gliddon and Nathan Sobey alongside emerging NBL stars including Will Magnay, Kouat Noi and Sunday Dech.

Players from teams participating in the NBL Finals will not be named in the final Boomers team that take on New Zealand and travel to Hong Kong, with Sydney Kings and Perth Wildcats players excluded from the squad given their current positions on the NBL ladder.

With Boomers head coach Brett Brown unavailable for the FIBA Asia Cup qualification games, Sydney Kings head coach Will Weaver will take on the lead coaching role joined by Brisbane Bullets assistant CJ Bruton and former NBL player Adam Caporn.

“We’re fortunate to have so many talented players eager to step up whenever they have the chance to represent Australia,” Weaver said.

“It’s always a tremendous honour to be part of the Boomers program and we are excited for this group to start the journey of qualifying for the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup on home soil against New Zealand in Brisbane.”

The final team for the FIBA Asia Cup Qualifier will be announced ahead of the first game on Thursday February 20 at Nissan Arena in Brisbane. 

Tickets for the Australian Boomers vs New Zealand Tall Blacks on February 20 at Nissan Arena in Brisbane are available here

Australian Boomers Squad for FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers

Anthony Drmic – Adelaide 36ers

Harry Froling – Adelaide 636ers

Nathan Sobey – Brisbane Bullets

Cam Gliddon – Brisbane Bullets

Matt Hodgson – Brisbane Bullets

Jason Cadee – Brisbane Bullets

Will Magnay – Brisbane Bullets

Tamuri Wigness – Basketball Australia Centre of Excellence

Kouat Noi – Cairns Taipans

Mirko Djeric – Cairns Taipans

Josh Giddey – NBA Global Academy

Todd Blanchfield – Illawarra Hawks

Daniel Grida – Illawarra Hawks

Emmett Naar – Illawarra Hawks

Sunday Dech – Illawarra Hawks

Sam Froling – Illawarra Hawks

Angus Glover – Illawarra Hawks

Chris Goulding – Melbourne United

David Barlow – Melbourne United

Mitch McCarron – Melbourne United

Mitch Creek – South East Melbourne Phoenix

Dane Pineau – South East Melbourne Phoenix

Kyle Adnam – South East Melbourne Phoenix

Adam Gibson – South East Melbourne Phoenix

Related posts

Leave a Comment