CIAA News: Jada Byers named D2CCA Super Region 2 Offensive POTY

Courtesy of the CIAA

CHARLOTTE, NC – The Division II Conference Commissioner’s Association (D2CCA) announced the 2022 All-Super Region Two football team Thursday afternoon with five players from the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA), the nation’s oldest historically Black athletic conference, being selected.

Honorees from the CIAA were headlined by Virginia Union running back Jada Byers, who was chosen as the 2022 D2CCA Super Region Two Offensive Player of the Year. Joining Byers on the all-region first team was Bowie State defensive lineman Joshua Pryor. The second team all-region selections from the conference included Bowie State tight end Jordan Griffin, Chowan linebacker Montre Moore, and Livingstone defensive back Kevin Larkins Jr.

Byers, the 2022 CIAA Offensive Player of the Year and the first Panther in program history to be named a finalist for the Harlon Hill Award, finished his sophomore season with an NCAA Division-II leading 1,920 rushing yards, which is also the most the CIAA history. The Hammonton, NJ native had 2,256 all-purpose yards, which led the nation, and his 19 rushing touchdowns were sixth nationally.  

Pryor, a redshirt senior, finished the season with 47 total tackles, 10.5 tackles for losses, 3.5 sacks, and eight quarterback hurries. His 47 total tackles tied the team-high for Bowie State and his 10.5 tackles for a loss tied for ninth in the CIAA. The Baltimore, MD native also was credited with two pass deflections and two forced recoveries, one of which Pryor returned for a touchdown. Defensively, Pryor helped the Bulldogs finish as one of four teams in the conference that surrendered less than 300 yards per game en route to a 6-4 overall record.

Moore led the CIAA with 103 tackles, which was 20th nationally. The San Bernardino, CA native also racked up 13.5 tackles for a loss and six sacks. Larkins Jr., the 2022 CIAA Defensive Rookie of the Year, is the leader in Division II with eight interceptions and the Ft. Lauderdale, FL native is the only first-year student-athlete to make the All-Super Region Two team. Griffin recorded 10 receptions for 161 yards and a touchdown. Moore, Larkins Jr., and Griffin were all first team All-CIAA selections.

First team all-region selections will be placed on the ballot for All-America consideration. To see the full list of players selected to the 2022 D2CCA All-Super Region Two Football Team, click HERE.

Related posts

Leave a Comment