2022 SIAC Softball All-Conference Awards

From the SIAC

The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) has announced its 2022 softball all-conference awards, as voted on by the league’s coaches and sports information directors.
Tuskegee’s Kendra Gibbons headlines the all-conference team after being selected as the 2022 SIAC Player of the Year alongside teammate Ayriana Stoneback who was named 2022 Starting Pitcher of the Year. Spring Hill’s Paityn Desormeaux earned this year’s Relief Pitcher of the Year honor. 

Albany State’s Morgan Brown was selected as the 2022 SIAC Freshman of the Year along with, Tuskegee’s Kaeley Roldan, who was named Utility Player of the Year. Tuskegee’s head coach, Dietrich Randle, has been named 2022 SIAC Softball Coach of the Year.

Kendra Gibbons , Tuskegee University – Player of the Year

Gibbons earned the league’s highest honor after leading the Golden Tigers to a first-place regular season finish in conference and leading the with a .394 batting average. The Lineville, AL native started in 31 of the 34 games for the Golden Tigers and finished the season leading her team and No. 15 in Division II in slugging percentage (.777), leading TU in hits (37), runs scored (35), doubles (15), home runs (5), and triples (3).

Ayrianna Stoneback, Tuskegee University – Starting Pitcher of the Year

Stoneback led the Golden Tigers in the circle posting a 3.49 ERA in her 21 appearances on the season with eight shutouts. The senior finished the regular season with a 15-4 record in 123.2 of work with 101 strikeouts on the season with her best (12) against LeMoyne-Owen in March.

Paitlyn Desormeaux, Spring Hill College – Relief Pitcher of the Year

Paityn Desormeaux of Spring Hill was named the 2022 SIAC Relief Pitcher of the Year. Desormeaux leads the league and is ranked 16th in Division II in hits allowed per 7 innings. She is also second in the conference in strikeout-to-walks ration and strikeouts per 7 innings.

Morgan Brown, Albany State University – Freshman of the Year

Albany State’s Brown earned the league’s highest freshman award after posting a .443 batting average. Starting in 32 games for the Golden Rams, Morgan Brown finished with 43 hits and 35 RBIs during the regular season.

Dietrich Randle, Tuskegee University- Coach of the Year

In his third season with the Golden Tigers, Coach Dietrich Randle finished with a 25-11 overall record and a 18-1 conference record leading them to the No. 1 seed in the West Division entering the championship tournament.

In its inaugural season, the Elite 14 award recognized the student-athlete who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the SIAC championship level in his or her sport while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. Miyah Rogers of Benedict was the first recipient of this award in softball.

The 2022 SIAC Softball Championship is set to return on May 5-7, 2022 at Gordon Sports Complex in Albany, Ga after the pandemic shut down the last two seasons. For more information, click here.

Coach of the Year: Dietrich Randle, Tuskegee

Freshman of the Year: Morgan Brown, Albany State

Starting Pitcher of the Year: Ayriana Stoneback, Tuskegee

Relief Pitcher of the Year: Paityn Desormeaux, Spring Hill

Utility Player of the Year: Kaeley Roldan, Tuskegee

Player of the Year: Kendra Gibbons, Tuskegee

Elite 14: Miyah Rogers, Benedict

2022 SIAC Softball All-Conference Team

First Team

Starting PitcherAyriana StonebackTuskegeeSeniorNotasulga, AL
Starting PitcherAlexandra BallesterSpring HillR-SophomoreFullerton, CA
CatcherNylah Strange-LindleyTuskegeeFreshmanSulphur Springs, TX
First BaseJada ChadwickTuskegeeJuniorColumbus, GA
Second BaseShalayiah WaidMilesFreshmanOakman, AL
Short StopTanisha ValdezKentucky StateSophomoreMaui, HI
Third BaseKendra GibbonsTuskegeeGrad StudentLineville, AL
OutfieldCecelia TennesseeTuskegeeGrad StudentHouston, TX
OutfieldRaelynn LeeLaneSeniorSouth Bend, IN
OutfieldKeyatta AyersAlbany StateSophomore 
Relief PitcherPaityn DesormeauxSpring HillR-SophomoreLafayette, LA
Designated PlayerSavanna JohnsonLaneJuniorBlue Mountain, MS
Utility PlayerKaeley RoldanTuskegeeFreshmanWahiawa, HI
Utility Non-PitcherMillay LambertLaneJuniorFlorence, AL

Second Team

Starting PitcherTrista MurphyAlbany StateFreshman 
Starting PitcherKaeley RoldanTuskegeeFreshmanWahiawa, HI
CatcherKaylee StinnettLaneFreshmanLas Vegas, NV
First BasePaityn DesormeauxSpring HillR-SophomoreLafayette, LA
Second BaseMacy HoltSpring HillR-SophomoreSatsuma, AL
Short StopDeyonce LewisBenedictSeniorDecatur, GA
Third BaseGenia HallMilesFreshmanStone Mountain, GA
OutfieldKailen OlisonKentucky StateSeniorMorena Valley, CA
OutfieldMorgan GreenSavannah StateJuniorPowder Springs, GA
OutfieldSophia NuzzolilloSpring HillR-SophomorePonchatoula, LA
Relief PitcherCasey SimsSavannah StateSeniorLawrenceville, GA
Designated PlayerLaila LavetteFort Valley StateFreshmanGrovetown, GA
Utility PlayerHailey SchultzSpring HillSophomoreWoodstock, GA
Utility Non-PitcherJada ChadwickTuskegeeJuniorColumbus, GA

Related posts

Leave a Comment