2022 SIAC Softball Preseason Teams Announced

Courtesy of the SIAC:

The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) has announced its 2022 Softball Preseason Teams as voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

The 2022 preseason team is highlighted by four returning players from Spring Hill (Morgan Kramer), Kentucky State (Moana Pinner), Albany State (Glory Seay), and Clark Atlanta (Tatianna Kelly) that were selected from the 2019 Softball All-Conference Teams.

In her rookie season with the Badgers, Kramer built a 4-2 record with two complete games and a 2.98 ERA over 44.2 innings pitched. With four starts in 14 appearances including one save, the Alabama native had 36 strike outs with 11 walks. In her 2020 season, she collected a 1-0 record in four relief appearances with one walk and two strikeouts in 8.0 innings pitched. Spring Hill placed three on this year’s preseason team and return for a chance to defend their conference championship title after two seasons affected by the COVID19 pandemic.

Benedict placed five on this year’s preseason team followed by Albany State, Fort Valley State, Lane, Miles, Savannah State, and Tuskegee who each had two, respectively. Clark Atlanta and Kentucky State each had one selection.

Albany State’s junior outfielder Glory Seay returns this season to help anchor the outfield after a freshman campaign where she hit .319 with four home runs, 12 doubles, knocking-in 25 runs and stealing six bases.

Clark Atlanta’s Kelly is a three-time SIAC Preseason Team member. She led the Panthers hitting .439 with six home runs, 30 RBI and had a .817 slugging percentage in 2019.

Kentucky State’s first baseman, Moana Pinner, returns after a strong run in the 2019 tournament. Her sophomore season, she started all 48 games and hit .351 with eight doubles, one triple, six home runs and 33 RBIs. In the 2020 abbreviated season, the Hawaii native slashed .395/.467./718 and posted a team-high three home runs and 14 RBIs.

The 2022 season opens up on February 3rd with a full slate of non-conference games.

First Team
SPCaprice JohnsonFort Valley StateSophomoreWoodstock, Ga.
RPMorgan Kramer*Spring HillRedshirt JuniorDothan, Ala.
CDaneshia WootenBenedictSophomoreHazlenut, Ga.
1BMoana Pinner*Kentucky StateSeniorHilo, HI
2BJocelyn LozanoSavannah StateSeniorCoral Springs, Fla.
3BKendra GibbonsTuskegeeGraduate StudentLineville, Ala.
SSMadison KogerSpring HillRedshirt SophomoreFairhope, Ala.
OFGlory Seay*Albany StateJuniorConyers, Ga.
OFRaelynn LeeLaneSeniorSouth Bend, IN
OFChesney MillerBenedictRedshirt SophomorePageland, S.C.
UPTatianna Kelly*Clark AtlantaGraduate StudentOakland, CA

Second Team
SPDeyonce LewisBenedictSeniorStone Mountain, Ga.
RPKayla SaulLaneSeniorFlorence, Ala.
CDeonia GibbyMilesFreshmanMontgomery, Ala.
1BTaylor McNealBenedictRedshirt SophomoreMartinez, Ga.
2BKayla WrightTuskegeeJuniorMillbrook, Ala.
3BRahkell HoldenSavannah StateFreshmanQuitman, Ga.
SSZanilla BookerBenedictRedshirt JuniorWashington, Ga.
OFAmaya TerryAlbany StateJuniorTracy, California
OFJa’Necia BarberFort Valley StateSophomoreJackson, Ga.
OFSophia NuzzolilloSpring HillRedshirt SophomorePonchatoula, LA
UPEmerald CoachmanMilesSeniorCottondale, Ala.

Related posts

Leave a Comment