Elizabeth City QB Johnnie Walton and Winston-Salem State coach Pete Richardson inducted into 2023 Black College Hall of Fame

Courtesy of the CIAA

The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced its 14th Class today – the Class of 2023. Former Elizabeth City State quarterback Johnnie Walton and former Winston-Salem State Head Coach Pete Richardson were two of eight inductees that were selected from a list of 25 Finalists who had been determined earlier by the BCFHOF Selection Committee.  

The Black College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023 includes… Leslie Frazier (Alcorn State University), Henry “Killer” Lawrence (Florida A&M University), Albert Lewis (Grambling State University), Jim Marsalis (Tennessee State University), Tyrone McGriff (Florida A&M University), Elijah Pitts (Philander Smith College), Johnnie Walton (Elizabeth City State University), and CoachPete Richardson (Southern University, Winston Salem State University).

“This Class is another representation of the immense football talent that has played at historically black colleges and universities,” said BCFHOF Co-Founder and 2011 Inductee Doug Williams. “Several of these players were college All-Americans, high NFL draft picks and Pro Bowlers.” 

Quarterback … Elizabeth City State University (1965-1968) … Four-year starting quarterback … All-CIAA Team his senior year with 114 of 204 passes for 1,400 yards and 16 touchdowns … Led the Vikings to an 8–1 record. … Signed with the Los Angeles Rams as a free agent … Los Angeles Rams (1969–1972) … Philadelphia Eagles (1976-1979) … Inducted into the ECSU Hall of Fame on October 25, 1985 … Born October 4, 1947.  

Coach … Winston-Salem State University (1988-1992) Southern University (1993-2009) … Compiled a record of 169–76–1… Won three Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) conference championships … Richardson never had a losing season while at WSSU … During his 17 years as head coach at Southern, the Jaguars football teams won five Southwestern Atlantic Conference Championships, including a three-peat from 1997-99 … Four black college national titles (1993, 1995, 1997 and 2003) … Four Heritage Bowl titles … 12-5 in the Bayou Classic … Born October 17, 1946. 

Votes were tallied from the 11-member Selection Committee, comprised of prominent journalists, commentators, and historians, as well as former NFL General Managers and executives, and from members of the BCFHOF to determine the Inductees.  

The Class of 2023 will be honored at the 14th Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons on June 10, 2023. The Induction Ceremony takes place at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.  

They will also be recognized at halftime of the Second Annual HBCU Legacy Bowl on February 25, 2023 at Yulman Stadium in New Orleans, LA, which will be broadcast live on NFL Network (3:00pm CT).  

For more information please visit www.BlackCollegeFootballHOF.org

About theCIAA

Founded in 1912, the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) is the first and longest running, African American athletic conference in the U.S. and one of the most recognized conferences in Division II. The CIAA conducts 14 championships attended by more than 150,000 fans from around the country. In 2020, the conference celebrated the special 75th anniversary of its Championship Basketball Tournament – an event that has become a must-see in the African American community. The Basketball Tournament has been honored as a Champion of Economic Impact in Sports Tourism by Sports Destination Management, the leading publication with the largest circulation of sports event planners and tournament directors in the sports tourism market, for both 2018 and 2019. Headquartered in Charlotte, N.C., the CIAA is governed by the Presidents and Chancellors of its 12 member-institutions: Bowie State University, Claflin University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, Johnson C. Smith University, Lincoln University of Pennsylvania, Livingstone College, Saint Augustine’s University, Shaw University, Virginia State University, Virginia Union University, and Winston-Salem State University. Chowan University is an associate member in football. For more information on the CIAA, visit theciaa.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

About the Black College Football Hall of Fame

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was founded in 2009 by African-American pioneers, quarterbacks James Harris and Doug Williams to preserve the history and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been over 100 Inductees since inception, including Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie LanierArt Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees.
The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) soon will have a permanent home at the Pro Football Hall of Fame (PFHOF) to tell the story of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).

About the HBCU Legacy Bowl

The HBCU Legacy Bowl, presented by the Black College Football Hall of Fame is a postseason all-star game that showcases the top 100 NFL draft-eligible football players from Historically Black Colleges and Universities. The game will be played on the Saturday, February 25, 2023 (Yulman Stadium at Tulane University), and broadcast live on NFL Network. More than a football game, the week-long celebration of Black culture and history will provide invaluable exposure for HBCU students. HBCU Legacy Bowl Founding Partners include the National Football Leagueadidas, Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes and his 15 and the Mahomies FoundationCoca-ColaCoors LightHome DepotNew Orleans SaintsRiddellState FarmSugar BowlTulane UniversityZebra Technologies, and the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Follow the HBCU Legacy Bowl on social media via @HBCULegacyBowl or visit www.HBCULegacyBowl.com for more information.

Related posts

Leave a Comment