Four Albany State golfers named to All-SIAC Men’s Golf First Team

From :

Peachtree City, Ga. (April 15, 2019)– Ten student-athletes have been honored as part of the 2018-19 Men’s Golf All-Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Team, as announced Monday.

Headlining the All-SIAC Team are Albany State’s Chase McLain, the SIAC Player of the Year, and Spring Hill’s Peter Schilli, the SIAC Freshman of the Year. Miles College’s Leonard Smoot garnered SIAC Coach of the Year accolades.

The All-SIAC Player, Freshman, and Coach of the Year was selected by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors, while the all-conference teams were decided by conference rankings with a minimum of 12 rounds.

McLain, a sophomore from Leesburg, Georgia, had a scoring average of 73.06 in 17 rounds and posted four top 20 finishes in his six events played this season, including a fourth-place finish at the Don Benbow Invitational in March, tied for eighth place in the Coastal Georgia Invitational, a thirteenth-place finish in the University of North Georgia Invitational, and a fifteenth-place finish in the Georgia Southwestern Hurricane Invitational. McLain is the second Golden Bear to win this award prior to the 2010 season.

ASU’s Chase McLainAbhinav WaliaTyler Hanson, and Jackson Crandall were all named to the All-SIAC Golf First Team.

Abhinav Walia a native of Lusaka, Zambia had a scoring average of 75.8 in 17 rounds and posted a first place finish for the Golden Rams during the Don Benbow Invitational in March. Tyler Hanson, a junior from Albany Georgia, had a scoring average of   76.5 in 14 rounds and posted a top finish this season of fourteenth. Jackson Crandall a native of St. Augustine, Florida  had a scoring average of 77.1 in 14 rounds and posted a top finish this season of sixteenth.

Under the leadership of Gary Hilton, the Albany State golf team will look to claim the 2019  SIAC men’s golf championship title beginning on Monday, April 15-17th at Flat Creek Country Club in Peachtree City, Ga. The first and last day of competition will begin at 8:30 a.m. The start time for Tuesday is slated for 11:30 a.m. For more information, click here.

Men’s Golf All-Conference

Player of the Year
Chase McLain, Albany State

Freshman of the Year
Peter Schilli, Spring Hill

Coach of the Year 
Leonard Smoot, Miles

First Team

Chase McLainAlbany StateSophomoreLeesburg, Ga.
Abhinav WaliaAlbany StateJuniorLusaka, Zambia
Tyler HansonAlbany StateJuniorAlbany, Georgia
Peter SchilliSpring HillFreshmanBirmingham, Ala.
Jackson CrandallAlbany StateFreshmanSt. Augustine, Fl.

Second Team

Timothy SimpsonMilesJuniorFort Lauderdale, Fl.
John KarcherSpring HillJuniorDetroit, Michigan 
Mac CorbinSpring HillSeniorDallas, Texas
Chandler HolcombMilesJuniorGuntersville, Ala.
Taylor SimmonsMilesSophomorePleasant Grove, Ala.

Related posts

Leave a Comment