NBL announces changes to opening round of NBL21

From nbl.com.au:

The NBL has announced changes to the schedule for the opening round of the 2020-21 Hungry Jack’s NBL Season.

The NBL will now stage games exclusively in South Australia and Queensland for the opening round. The games will be as follows:


Friday January 15
Adelaide 36ers v Melbourne United, Adelaide Entertainment Centre, 7.30pm

Saturday January 16
Brisbane Bullets v TBC, Nissan Arena, 5.30pm (TBC)

Cairns Taipans v Sydney Kings, Cairns Pop-Up Arena, 8pm

Sunday January 17
Adelaide 36ers v South East Melbourne Phoenix, Adelaide Entertainment Centre, 3pm

Monday January 18
Cairns Taipans v The Hawks, Cairns Pop-Up Arena, 7.30pm

All times are AEDT. Games will be broadcast on SBS VICELAND, ESPN, SBS On Demand, SKY Sport and Twitch.

NBL Commissioner Jeremy Loeliger said: “We are tremendously excited about NBL21 tipping off next Friday with five games scheduled over the first four days of the season and we can’t wait to play in front of as many fans as possible over the coming months.

“The latest changes to the schedule have been made necessary by the developments in Queensland where we currently have five teams, Brisbane Bullets, Cairns Taipans, Melbourne United, Adelaide 36ers and Perth Wildcats.

“We will start the season in Cairns and Adelaide, but we will continue to monitor the situation in Brisbane in the hope we can also host a game there in the opening round. We will continue to stay flexible and be guided by the relevant state health authorities but our intention is still for all teams to play 14 home games across the season when they are able to do so.

“As always, we remain grateful to our clubs, players, officials, partners and fans for their understanding and patience as we navigate these ongoing challenges and now look forward to the start of our 43rd consecutive season.”

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!

Related posts

Leave a Comment