MEAC’s Statement on Bethune Cookman’s departure

From :

NORFOLK, Va., June 25, 2020—The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) acknowledges that Bethune-Cookman University has decided to leave the conference after June 30, 2021 but is also determined to continue its mission of being a viable NCAA Division I conference.

With eight remaining full members, including six institutions that sponsor football championship subdivision (FCS)-level football, the MEAC will retain its NCAA automatic qualification (AQ) in nine sponsored sports.

Bethune-Cookman will be leaving after 40 years in the MEAC; however, institutions make decisions based upon what they consider is in their best interest.

As with many challenges intercollegiate athletics faces, it also provides opportunities for new conference expansion. The MEAC is celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2020-21, highlighting a proud history and legacy including NFL and NBA Hall of Famers, as well as Olympic medalists.

The MEAC has been a transformative and dynamic conference in its nearly 50 years, and we look forward to an even brighter future.

About the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) just concluded its 49th year of intercollegiate competition with the 2019-20 academic school year. Located in Norfolk, Va., the MEAC is made up of 11 outstanding historically black institutions across the Atlantic coastline: Bethune-Cookman University, Coppin State University, Delaware State University, Florida A&M University, Howard University, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Morgan State University, Norfolk State University, North Carolina A&T State University, North Carolina Central University and South Carolina State University.

Related posts

Leave a Comment