2023 SWAC Softball Preseason Selections

Courtesy of the Southwestern Athletic Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.- The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its 2023 SWAC Softball Preseason teams and individual award selections on Thursday afternoon. The preseason teams and individual awards were voted upon by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.
Alabama State’s Kindall Deramus was named Preseason Player of the Year, while Texas Southern’s Jazmine Gendorf was tabbed Preseason Pitcher of the Year.

Kindall Deramus |Freshman | Outfielder| Alabama State

Deramus hit a team-best .410 during the regular season from the leadoff position. She finished regular season competition with a .950 OPS and went 64-for-156 at the plate. Deramus recorded seven doubles and three triples, while also scoring 39 runs and knocking in 25 RBIs. She amassed a .494 slugging percentage and a .456 on-base percentage while stealing 35 bases on 40 attempts. Deramus concluded the regular season with 19 multi-hit games.

Jazmine Gendorf | Senior| Pitcher | Texas Southern

Gendorf ranked tied for 1st in the SWAC in total wins with 14 wins last season. She was 4th in the SWAC with a 2.37 ERA while striking out 71 batters (7th in the SWAC) during the regular season. Gendorf was also named SWAC Pitcher of the Week in March of the 2022 season and received first-team honors at the conclusion of the season while ranking 6th in total innings pitched (124).

The upcoming 2023 SWAC Softball regular season is set to begin next week with league teams returning to action. The 2023 SWAC Softball Tournament will be held May 9-12 (*May 13 if necessary) at the Gulfport Sportsplex located in Gulfport, Miss.
A complete listing of preseason team selections and individual awards winners is listed below.
Preseason Player of the Year
Kindall Deramus, Alabama State
Preseason Pitcher of the Year
Jazmine Gendorf, Texas Southern
Preseason First Team
C – Biviana Figueroa, Prairie View A&M
1B – Samaria Jackson, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
2B – India Wells, Grambling State
SS – Destiny Cuevas, Florida A&M
3B – Jaylyn Davis, Prairie View A&M
OF – Kindall Deramus, Alabama State
OF – Allyson Riches, Alabama A&M
OF – Audrey Garcia, Prairie View A&M
P – Jazmine Gendorf, Texas Southern
P – Halyne Gonzales, Bethune-Cookman
P – Chris’Deona Beasley, Florida A&M
DP – Tamera McKnight, Texas Southern
Preseason Second Team
C – Nyah Morgan, Florida A&M
1B – Mila Rodriguez, Texas Southern
2B – Desirae Martinez, Bethune-Cookman
SS – Samiyyah Huckabee, Jackson State
3B – Tyesha Cole, Alcorn State
OF – Haley Parks, Bethune-Cookman
OF – MelKayla Irvis, Florida A&M
OF – Kristian Edwards, Alcorn State
P – Bailey Greenlee, Alabama State
P – Takiya Hill, Jackson State 
P – Cailin Massey, Prairie View A&M 
DP – Carson Shelby, Mississippi Valley State

Related posts

Leave a Comment