Nine CIAA players named to Black College Player of the Year Watch List


Atlanta, GA (August 14, 2019) – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced today the 2019 Watch List for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award with nine players from the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) being named to the list.

The list of CIAA players on BCFHOF watch list is led by Fayettville State running back Stevie Green and kick returner Brandon Smith as well as Virginia Union running back Tabyus Taylor and defensive back Sterling Hammond. The list also includes Bowie State defensive lineman Joshua Pryor, Lincoln (PA) defensive lineman Solomon Bassett, Winston-Salem State defensive back Daryus Skinner, Shaw linebacker Devon Hunt, Saint Augustine’s linebacker Joseph Harris, Jr.

FSU’s Green was top three in the CIAA in both rushing yards and all-purpose yards and Smith is the league’s returning Special Teams Player of the Year while Panthers teammates Hammond and Taylor ranked among league leaders in interceptions as well as led the conference in rushing, total yards, and scoring, respectively. 

Hunt (Defensive Player of the Year) and Pryor (Defensive Rookie of the Year) were two of the top defenders in the CIAA last season after finishing first in tackles and second in sacks, respectively, while Lions standout Bassett was also among league leaders in sacks. 

Skinner led all of Division II in interceptions in 2018 and Harris was top 10 in tackles and interceptions in the CIAA. 

The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University. Former North Carolina A&T, and current Chicago Bears running back Tarik Cohen was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2016; Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall was the 2017 and 2018 recipient.

The winner of the 2019 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be honored with the Deacon Jones Trophy during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which takes place on February 15, 2020 in Atlanta. Four finalists will be unveiled on December 3, 2019.

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2019 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by a selection committee.

First NameLast NamePositionSchoolClassConference
SolomonBassettDLLincoln (PA)SeniorCIAA
ElijahBellWRNorth Carolina A&TSeniorMEAC
JordanBentleyRBAlabama A&MSeniorSWAC
BrianCavicanteLBDelaware StateJuniorMEAC
QwynnterrioColeDBAlcorn StateJuniorSWAC
DeondreFrancoisQBHampton SeniorMEAC
AqeelGlassQBAlabama A&MJuniorSWAC
StevieGreenRBFayetteville StateSeniorCIAA
KevinGreenhowWRCentral StateJuniorSIAC
SterlingHammondDBVirginia UnionSeniorCIAA
JosephHarris, Jr.LBSaint Augustine’sSophCIAA
DevonHuntLBShaw UniversitySeniorCIAA
NoahJohnsonQBAlcorn StateSeniorSWAC
RicoKennedyLBMorgan StateSeniorMEAC
IanMcBorroughLBMorgan StateJuniorMEAC
MacMcCain IIIDBNorth Carolina A&TJuniorMEAC
JosephMcWilliamsDBGrambling StateSeniorSWAC
KerrionMooreRBWinston-Salem StateSeniorCIAA
JavenMorrisonDBAlcorn StateSeniorSWAC
JalenMortonQBPrairie View A&MSeniorSWAC
SolomonMuhammadLBAlcorn StateSeniorSWAC
AnferneeMullinsDLGrambling StateSeniorSWAC
Ju’AnthonyParkerDBPrairie View A&MSeniorSWAC
TaeylerPorterRBArkansas-Pine BluffSeniorSWAC
JoshuaPryorDLBowie StateSophCIAA
ChrisRowlandWRTennessee StateSeniorOVC
DaryusSkinnerDBWinston-Salem StateSeniorCIAA
BrandonSmithKRFayetteville StateJuniorCIAA
AustinStephensLBMiles SeniorSIAC
TabyusTaylorRBVirginia UnionSophCIAA
IsaiahTottenRBNorth Carolina CentralJuniorMEAC
DawonyaTuckerRBPrairie View A&MSeniorSWAC
De’ShawnWallerRBAlcorn StateSeniorSWAC
CamronYoungDBFort Valley StateSeniorSIAC

Related posts

Leave a Comment