Tuskegee’s Thomas on the Black College Player of the Year Watch List

From golden tiger sports:

Atlanta, Ga. – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced today the 2019 Watch List for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award and linebacker Davoris Thomas is among one of 48 players listed.  The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University. 

Last season Thomas played in all 10 games as a junior and finished second on the team with 64 tackles  including 5.5 TFL for -13 yards. The Spanish Fort, Ala. native led the TU linebacker unit with four Passes Broken Up, two interceptions, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. After his performance during week five of last season, Thomas was named Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Player of the Week ,for finishing with 12 tackles, one tackle for a loss, a forced fumble and a game clinching fumble recovery that halted a late Lane College drive in the 4th quarter.

The winner of the 2019 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be honored with the Deacon Jones Trophy during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which takes place on February 15, 2020 in Atlanta. Four finalists will be unveiled on December 3, 2019. 

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2019 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by a Selection Committee. 

About Black College Football Hall of Fame 

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in October of 2009 by African-American pioneers and quarterbacks, Pro Bowl MVP James “Shack” Harris and Super Bowl MVP Doug Williams, to preserve the history and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been 77 Inductees since inception, including Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees. 

About Deacon Jones 

David “Deacon” Jones played defensive end for South Carolina State University and Mississippi Valley State University from 1958 to 1960. Blessed with speed, agility, and quickness, the “Deacon” became one of the finest pass rushers in the business. He won unanimous All-NFL honors six straight years from 1965 through 1970 and was selected to eight Pro Bowls. Jones is an inaugural Black College Football Hall of Fame inductee (2010) and is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. 

Related posts

Leave a Comment