Benedict’s Traviontae Brown named to preseason Player of Year watch list

COLUMBIA, S.C. — Benedict College senior defensive back Traviontae Brown has been named to the preseason watch list for the Black College Football Hall of Fame Deacon Jones Trophy.

The 48-player list is composed of 16 players from the MEAC, 13 from the SWAC, 10 from the CIAA, eight from the SIAC, and one from a non-HBCU conference. Former Bowie State star quarterback Amir Hall was the 2017 and 2018 recipient.

Brown was named to the AFCA Division II Coaches’ All American Team last season, becoming the first Benedict football player in school history to receive this honor by the AFCA. During his junior season, Brown had five interceptions and led the SIAC with 12 passes defended. He finished with 14 total tackles, one forced fumble, and one fumble recovery

The winner of the 2019 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be honored with the Deacon Jones Trophy during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which takes place on February 15, 2020 in Atlanta. Four finalists will be unveiled on December 3, 2019.

“There are many gifted football players competing at Historically Black College and Universities right now,” said Super Bowl XXII MVP and BCFHOF co-founder Doug Williams. “The award is a way for the Black College Football Hall of Fame to recognize these talented student-athletes.”

“The Deacon Jones Trophy is the most coveted individual award a football player from a HBCU can receive,” said BCFHOF co-founder and 2012 inductee James Harris. “I enjoy monitoring the progress of these young men throughout the season.”

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2017 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by a Selection Committee.

The complete 48-player watch list can be found here.

ABOUT THE BLACK COLLEGE FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME The Black College Football Hall of Fame was founded in 2009 by African-American pioneers, quarterbacks James Harris and Doug Williams to preserve the history and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been 64 Inductees since inception, including Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees. ABOUT DEACON JONES David “Deacon” Jones played defensive end for South Carolina State University and Mississippi Valley State University from 1958 to 1960. Blessed with speed, agility, and quickness, the “Deacon” became one of the finest pass rushers in the business. He won unanimous All-NFL honors six straight years from 1965 through 1970 and was selected to eight Pro Bowls. Jones is an inaugural Black College Football Hall of Fame inductee (2010) and is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Related posts

Leave a Comment